Plan for a successful Whole30

In 2014 I completed two rounds of Whole30 (Again, if you dont know what Whole30 is, look it up. Or read the book, “It starts with food” by Melissa and Dallas Hartwig). I was able to lose 2 pant sizes, clear my complexion, get good sleep, have endless energy and learn to really enjoy eating healthy food. In fact it changed my life. I preached the Whole30 bible. I spread the word to my friends and family. I feel embarrassed to even say that because somehow after accomplishing that, I allowed myself to lose control. It seems to be a bad habit that rears it’s ugly head. I do so good and accomplish so much just to face plant into a plate of cheese fries. More like months of smorgasbord eating, telling myself “I’ll start back up tomorrow”. 

When I eat like crap, I feel like crap. I am constantly down on myself. I have no self confidence. My skin lacks in luster and my body is heavy with bloat. But when I eat healthy I have a little pep in my step. I don’t hide when the camera is out. I have found the confidence a women should have. It’s a feeling you just have to experience to fully understand. 

I wish I could explain why, if I feel so good while eating whole foods, I fall so deeply off the wagon. It is a mission I plan on working on this year. Weather it takes one more round of whole30 or a whole120, I want to really focus on me. I am tired of putting my mind and body through this roller coaster. 

Some may think its silly, but to someone who truthfully feels she has a problem with food, it’s not silly at all. 

I may not completely accomplish freeing myself from this crutch but I intend on making it my mission to free myself from self hate and start loving myself and the skin I am in! 

With all that said
I have committed to helping my family in Utah complete a round of Whole30 on their own.  I will complete my third round of Whole30 here in California while documenting my plan, my recipes (and others), my shopping lists, how to’s, candid updates about how I’m feeling and everything in between. I am going to make this information very detailed as some of my family is not that familiar cooking in the kitchen and needs a bit more instruction. That leads me to the huge post below. If you are new to the Whole30 journey, I hope you find this blog useful. 
 
 
January 2015 Whole30
Both my husband and I will be participating in this round of Whole30, therefore everything I cook will feed the two of us. All of these plans and recipes can work for a quick Whole30 week for one person (I would only choose a few of this weeks meals so you don’t waist too much) or will make enough food for two people.
“If you fail to plan, you plan to fail” – Benjamin Franklin
Two days before you start your whole30 –
– Drink a lot of water. Its best to take your weight and divide it in half and drink that in ounces. (example: you weigh 150 lbs divided in half, you should drink 75 oz of water)
– Read the book “It starts with food” by Dallas and Melissa Hartwig
– Research the whole30.com website. Re-read the guidelines
– Research your favorite Paleo/whole30 blogs
– Follow whole30 and whole30recipes pages on Facebook and Instagram
– Make a weekly meal plan (or follow the one below)
– Make your grocery list (or follow the one below)
– shop for your ingredients (I go to Costco, Trader Joes and Sprouts for most of my ingredients)
Day before you start your Whole30 – 
-Drink a lot of water. Its better to take your weight and divide it in half and drink that in Ounces. (example: you weigh 150 lbs divided in half, you should drink 75 oz of water)
– Make a double batch of approved mayo (recipe http://planksloveandguacamole.blogspot.com/2014/08/i-am-all-about-flavor-when-i-prepare.html#uds-search-results, this will be used in your deviled eggs and tuna salad)
– Make a batch of approved ranch (recipe also on the link above, this will be used on salads and to use later in the week on your burgers or just to dip stuff in… its delish)
– Hard Boil 6 eggs (to be eaten with salt and pepper or made into deviled eggs using homemade mayo)
– Slow cook a corned beef brisket in a large pot of water (to cover meat), the seasoning packet and 5 or 6 red potatoes. Once cooked and cooled, chop all ingredients and place into individual sandwich bags with chopped red, green and yellow bell peppers and 1 chopped yellow onion
– Cut 4 small bell peppers in half  (these will be used for you Monday and Tuesday lunches)
– mix 2 cans of tuna with homemade mayo, diced onion, diced celery, diced pickles, salt, pepper or make a curry version with mayo, grapes, celery, cashews, salt and pepper (my fav!)
– Put the tuna in the halved bell peppers and place in a lunch container with a half of an avocado and some grapes (takes care of lunch for Monday and Tuesday)
– Place the chicken thighs in a gallon size plastic bag with marinade and place in the fridge for Monday nights dinner
– Chop 2 yellow onions in small dice. Place in a plastic bag and store in fridge (for use throughout the week in/on chili, salads, tuna, egg cups and burgers)
– Chop 4 red/green/yellow bell peppers in small dice. Place in plastic bag and store in fridge (for use throughout the week in hash, chili, egg cups and burgers)
This image is courtesy of Whole30.com. It shows an example of what you can expect to feel like days 1 thru 7. I felt it was pretty accurate. Just remember to drink lots of water as this will help with the detox period. And if you are still hungry after your meals, You are not eating enough. Avocados were my go to meal additions. Get in your healthy fats!!
Remember: the menu below does not need to be followed exactly. If you don’t have time to cook the meals on particular days, alternate the items or try a quick cooking meal in its place (ex. Chicken and veggies with some healthy fats, is always a good stand by)
 
Menu for week one –
Monday
meal 1: corned beef hash and fried eggs
meal 2: tuna salad in mixed mini peppers, half an avocado and a piece of fruit
meal 3: lemon pepper chicken thighs with green salad and homemade ranch
meal 4: optional to use in place of snack only if needed apple with almond butter or grapes and almonds (a fruit and a protein)
Tuesday
meal 1: corned beef hash and fried eggs
meal 2: tuna salad in pepper boats, half an avocado and some a piece of fruit
meal 3: smoky bacon chili with avocado, onion, tomatoes and plantain chips
meal 4: optional only if needed in place of a snack apple with almond butter or grapes and almonds (a fruit and a protein) 
Wednesday
meal 1: egg cups with pork sausage, half an avocado and grapes
meal 2: chili with avocado and plantain chips
meal 3: ground pork and beef with snow peas cabbage onion recipe
meal 4: optional only if needed in place of a snack apple with almond butter or grapes and almonds (a fruit and a protein) 
Thursday
meal 1: egg cups with half an avocado and grapes
meal 2: pork and beef sauté from night before
meal 3: chicken burger with sweet potato buns, avocado and ranch @planksloveandguackamole recipe
meal 4:optional only if needed in place of a snack apple with almond butter or grapes and almonds (a fruit and a protein) 
Friday
meal 1: scrambled eggs with bell peppers and onions with pork sausage and fried potatoes
meal 2: left over burger on buns
meal 3: best pork chops ever with slaw and sauteed apples
meal 4: optional only if needed in place of a snack apple with almond butter or grapes and almonds (a fruit and a protein)  
Saturday
meal 1: smashed baked potato with egg and hollandaise sauce 
Meal 2: left over pork chops with apples and slaw
meal 3: cracklin chicken with asparagus or broccoli  and avocado
meal 4: optional only if needed in place of a snack apple with almond butter or grapes and almonds (a fruit and a protein) 
Sunday
meal 1: smashed baked potato with egg and hollandaise sauce 
meal 2: cracklin chicken with asparagus and avocado
meal 3: Taco salads using the easy crock pot taco meat
meal 4: optional only if needed in place of a snack apple with almond butter or grapes and almonds (a fruit and a protein) 
No fail Whole30 Step by Step
 
Whole30 Day 1 –
– Drink a lot of water. Its best to take your weight and divide it in half and drink that in Ounces. (example: you weigh 150 lbs divided in half, you should drink 75 oz of water)
– Eat your meals. If you are still hungry at the end of your meal, make sure to eat a healthy fat to fill you up. If you are not eating enough, you will likely cave. Be prepared!
 
Whole30 Day 2 –
– Drink a lot of water. Its better to take your weight and divide it in half and drink that in Ounces. (example: you weigh 150 lbs divided in half, you should drink 75 oz of water)
– Eat your meals
– For dinner, prep the chili. Its a quick cooking chili so need to worry about it taking too long. Throw it together, eat your dinner portion and place the left over into plastic lunch containers for lunch the next few days.
– Make your egg cups for breakfast tomorrow morning. Follow this recipe
Whole30 Day 3 –
– Drink a lot of water. It’s better to take your weight and divide it in half and drink that in Ounces. (example: you weigh 150 lbs divided in half, you should drink 75 oz of water)
– Eat your meals
– Dinner is a quick meal to throw together. Follow this recipe: 1lb ground pork, 1lb ground beef, 1 cup diced onion saute together and add salt, pepper, garlic and onion powders. Once browned add 2 cups chopped cabbage and 2 cups snow peas. Add some sesame oil, sesame seeds and coconut aminos to taste. Eat your dinner and place the left overs in lunch containers for tomorrows lunch
– If you would like to get ahead of the game for tomorrow nights dinner, shred sweet potatoes using a cheese grater, place in a plastic bag and store. 
 
Whole30 Day 4 –
– Drink your water!
– Eat your meals as planned
– Dinner will be a bit more intense tonight. But that’s the fun of it. Follow this recipe. Use some ranch you made earlier in the week and enjoy!
– Place your pork chops in the marinade and keep refrigerated over night. Use this recipe for your marinade. 
Whole30 Day 5 – 
– Drink your water!
– If you dont have any egg muffins left from the days prior, just make some eggs and a quick hash using the vegetables you prepped at the beginning of the week. Sautee that with some pork sausage and top with scrambled or fried eggs. 
– Eat your meals
Whole30 Day 6 –
– Drink your water
– Eat your meals
– Prep your chicken for dinner. This recipe may seem a little intimidating but is SO worth it. (You could possibly ask your local butcher to remove the bones for you if you didn’t want to tackle that on your own)
Whole30 Day 7 –
– Drink your water
– Eat your meals
– 4 hours before you want dinner, make sure to make your crock pot taco meat for your taco salads. Follow this recipe
– chop of your lettuce, onions, olives, avocado, tomatoes for your salads. Top with salsa. 
Hopefully week one plan doesn’t scare you away. I wanted to provide you with verity so you don’t get bored. Remember to check back to this guide often. 
Shopping List (I realize this list looks long, but remember some of these ingredients will last you your whole 30 days. You may also already have some of these ingredients in your pantry) 
7 avocados
4 yellow onions
1 head of garlic
mixed bell peppers large for chopping and small for tuna cups
1 bunch of celery
4/5 large tomatoes or a bunch of cherry tomatoes
4/5 carrots
salad mix or lettuce
1 head of cabbage
1 bag of snow peas
2 lemons
1 bag/bunch of grapes
8 apples
4 pieces of fruit (pears, peaches, plums whatever you feel like or is in season)
4 large sweet potatoes
5lb bag of red potatoes (you will be able to use this in the next few weeks)
3 scallions 
a bunch of asparagus or broccoli (which ever is more affordable)
1 bag of spinach
16 chicken thighs with skin on (bones removed if your butcher will do it or buy them from costco and de-bone yourself)
4 lbs ground beef (I buy the organic from costco)
2 lbs ground pork
1 lbs ground chicken
4 pork chops (i prefer bone in. I buy from Costco and place them in freezer bags for later)
2 cans of tuna in water
2 dozen eggs
1 large corned beef brisket (in package including seasoning packet. Make sure they do not contain sugar as an ingredient)
avocado oil
apple cider vinegar
1 can of olives
1 jar of sugar free salsa
coconut aminos (I buy at sprouts)
coconut flour (I  buy at sprouts)
tapioca starch (I buy at sprouts) 
garlic powder
onion powder
dried thyme
ghee (you can get a huge container at Costco)
pickles (make sure they do not contain sugar)
chili powder
smoked paprika
cumin
cayenne pepper
1 (14) ounce can of fire roasted tomatoes
1 (8) ounce can of tomato sauce
4 bags of plantain chips (I buy them from sprouts or trader joes)
cashews (small bag for tuna salad or to snack on when needed)
1 jar of almond butter
a few bottle of Kombucha for when you need something to drink other then water
A few cans of La Croix water (for when you need a carbonated drink) 

Leave a Reply

