Absolutely perfect day in California

Most Wednesday mornings fly by for us. I packed the baby a breakfast and grabbed two stalks of celery with left over tuna for myself before running my kid to school. Stopped at a nearby Starbucks to feed the baby before heading to story time at the library. Usually by the time we get home he is ready for lunch and a nap, but today the sun was out and that called for some park play.

Evernote Camera Roll 20150107 182733 (3)

“P” fell asleep as soon as we walked in the door, so I had a moment to put my lunch together. I took two of the leftover lemon pepper chicken thighs, chopped it and added celery, grapes, curry powder and homemade mayo. Added a scoop on top of an avocado and finished it with cherry tomatoes and cashews. It was very good!

Evernote Camera Roll 20150107 182733 (2)

You are going to want to buy some avocado oil. I make a super fast homemade mayo and ranch with it using Planksloveandguacamole.blogspot.com recipes. The oil is almost flavorless, but can be cooked at a very high burn point. Apparently its really good for skin too (If you wanted to learn more about the oil cleansing method, I can help you out!) But back to food… Sense I bought my first bottle at costco, I have not used any other oil.  Another item you want to buy is unsweetened coconut milk (buy some now so you can partake in the chia pudding fun next week). I buy it by the case from amazon. Its cheaper plus the brand I buy is organic.

Evernote Camera Roll 20150107 182733 (1)

Around 3pm I made the protein portion of dinner (don’t cook it until ready to eat). The recipe recommend you let the flavors marry. I would think you could mix everything and let it sit over night to save time. The recipe I am speaking of is Buffalo Chicken Sliders by planksloveandguacamole.blogspot.com

Evernote Camera Roll 20150107 182733

If you knew what was good for you, you would look up this recipe and make it. I’ve made the entire recipe on sweet potato “buns” but I am not a fan of sweet potatoes. So tonight I made “buns” out of red potatoes. Served it with avocado, tomato, homemade ranch and a green salad.

For the potato buns I took 4 larger sized red potatoes. Sliced them in 1/4 inch thick slices. Placed them on a baking sheet. Drizzled with avocado oil, salt and Costco’s no salt organic 21 herb seasoning. Put in a 400 degree oven (flipping once half way through cooking) and bake until browned (about 20 mins).

This buffalo chicken recipe could be used as meatballs, or even browned then put on a baked potato or over zoodles. Or heck even on a green salad. Its just that good!

Can you tell I am a fan of planksloveandguacamole.blogspot.com recipes? She has some wonderful posts about why she cooks paleo for her family and shares her amazing recipes on the blog as well as in a book. Check her out!

As you can see, my weekly meal plan changes quite a bit during the week. As long as you have healthy ingredients on hand, you too can switch it up as you please. But if you really want to stick to a plan for ease sake, please feel free.

Today was day 3 and I must say.. Something good did come from that juice cleanse. I have not detoxed like past rounds. That is a blessing in disguise.

I’m hoping you had a sunny day!

Marisa

Leave a Reply

