Every day gets a little easier

You will realize once you have done a round or two of whole30 that you can make your meals pretty quickly. I didn’t put much effort into today’s meals because I had lots of left overs. We are still eating the corned beef from Monday. And I had left over chicken salad for lunch.

Evernote Camera Roll 20150108 191921

In the book “It starts with food” Its recommended that you eat your meals at the dinning table without technology. I try as many meals as possible to follow this rule, however today I was FREEZING all day. So I ate my lunch while snuggled in my new blanket watching “Donnie loves Jenny” (I love them so much. I just want to be their friend ha!)

I gave my husband the option to choose dinner. Chili or Pork chops. He chose chili. Normally I would use the Smoky chili recipe from paleomg.com but the bacon we have in the house has sugar as an ingredient. So I decided to follow the guideline of that recipe but put a few twists on it. And because I am not a huge fan of sweet potatoes, I considered leaving it out but I am so glad I didn’t. It added just enough sweetness to counter the tomato base.

Evernote Camera Roll 20150108 191921 (1)

This is the size dice I used for all the veggies. I browned them in 1 tsp ghee. 1 cup of sweet potato, 1 small yellow onion, 1 yellow bell pepper, 1 red bell pepper, and 1 clove of garlic. I added the spices then the meat. Doing it in that order gives the spices a moment to bloom. The flavor is more intense this way. Then I added the meat (ground beef).

Evernote Camera Roll 20150108 191921 (2)

I topped the chili with diced onion, tomato and avocado. I added a few plantain chips for crunch and some strawberry kombucha. This recipe makes a ton of chili so you could potentially have several lunch’s or even freeze it for next week.

If you are going to follow along with my meal plan, you will want to take out the pork chops (if frozen) and start the marinade tonight. It makes the flavor even more incredible! Find the recipe at planksloveandguacamole.blogspot.com “The best pork chop EVER”

I am still feeling great but the hubby had a pretty bad head ache throughout the day. I am sure the detoxing of energy drinks and coke is going to be pretty brutal for him. But Day 4 on the books none the less!

The baby boy and I took a stroll to the neighborhood park to run off some steam. There was a little boy there who wanted to play ball so “P” happily obliged. However the kid was coughing… Needless to say, I had to bust out the Thieves essential oils when we got home. Hopefully I can combat it from making into this house.

Evernote Camera Roll 20150108 191922

Hope you all had a great day!

Marisa

Leave a Reply

