Guess what day it is….. PREP DAY!!!

Now let me stress the importance of preparation for a successful Whole30. If you do not utilize your time wisely the next 30 days may seem unattainable. Sundays are the perfect day for me to spend a few quality hours in the kitchen. I plan out what I am going to tackle and don’t leave the kitchen until its done. On yesterdays post, I listed what you could do for the next week. Here is what I did… (Oh and stay tuned for some chia pudding excitement!)

First I put a beef roast in the crock-pot for Ropa Vieja. Its a slow roasted beef with mixed peppers, onions, tomatoes and capers. This will be dinner tonight and lunch for tomorrow, plus have a little extra for later in the week. I followed this recipe from Paleomg.com http://paleomg.com/crockpot-ropa-vieja-cuban-style-rice/

Evernote Camera Roll 20150111 191815 (2)

I cant forget to mention this. The knife you are using is probably all wrong. Make sure your using a larger chefs knife. It must be sharpened. This will insure you thin slices every time.

Second I took 2 whole chickens and roasted them. Really, this is much easier then it sounds (and more cost effective then buying the rotisserie chickens from the store. Plus you know what its in when you make it at home). I simply took the two chickens out of the packaging. I placed them flat on a baking sheet, liberally sprinkled with kosher salt and pepper and baked in the oven for 50 mins at 400 degrees.

Evernote Camera Roll 20150111 191815 (1)

Once the chickens are cooled I took all the meat off the bones (ate two legs and some of the skin.. because really, whats better then crispy, salty chicken skin!). Save the bones to make bone broth (that was on my list too, but because the Ropa Vieja was in the crock-pot, I had to wait until after dinner to start it)  But here is what I did:

Take the chicken bones, a handful of carrots, some celery and a bunch of parsley and toss it into the crock-pot. Cover with water and add two splashes of apple cider vinegar. Cover and let cook on high for 24 hours. Once that is complete, we will be making vegetable chicken soup (stay tuned)

Evernote Camera Roll 20150111 191814

Now lets get excited. I am going to rock your breakfast world. I am about to show you just how easy it is to make a quick, delicious and nutritious breakfast for three days!

For 3 servings of chia pudding you need 2 ripe bananas, 1 can of full fat organic coconut milk and 6 tablespoons of chia seeds. Let sit in the fridge overnight before eating. But make sure to eat it within 3-4 days. I top my chia pudding with mixed berries and slivered almonds. My husband adds extra banana to his. But this is how I prepare my berries for quick grab and go. Individually measured and packaged.

Evernote Camera Roll 20150111 191815

If your on a whole30 journey of your own, you want to be cautious of the amount of fruit you consume in a day. So if you are going to be eating these chia puddings instead of say eggs and sausage, be careful with the amount of fruit you eat the rest of the day. Personally, this will be the only fruit I eat in the day.

So because I have saved you so much time making your breakfast, here is something you can tackle, which might take you a little more time and effort. Cauliflower rice. Now I am not going to lie, its a little time consuming but totally worth it. You could even do the hard part today and store it for later in the week, if you wanted.

Here is what I did: I took a head of cauliflower and took the steam out. Cut into smaller size flower-ettes then placed into a food processor. Pulsed them in small batches until the size of the pieces resembled rice.

Evernote Camera Roll 20150111 191814 (2)

Evernote Camera Roll 20150111 191814 (1)

When the Ropa Vieja was ready, I sauteed the cauliflower rice in some avocado oil with cumin, garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper. I only heated the ingredients through as to not over cook it. Dinner was DELISH!!

Evernote Camera Roll 20150111 191814 (4)

Day 7 of this whole30 journey is almost over. I am thankfully feeling back to normal and ready to take on the next 23 days!

Tune in tomorrow to see what the Chia pudding finished product looks like!  Its my JAAAAMMM!

Oh and if you want to partake in this Chia pudding goodness, order your coconut milk today!

Marisa

Leave a Reply

