Chicken Vegetable soup for your soul

Today was filled with errands, laundry, toilet cleaning, kitchen cleaning and backyard play. Luckily I have all of my normal energy back, plus some. Its been 10 days sense I did the dreaded organic juice cleanse. So that’s 10 days with no refined sugar, and processed crap (day 8 on whole30). I think I am finally past all the detox and possibly finding my Tigers blood? (read the book “It starts with food” if your wondering what Tigers blood is) Or read more here: http://whole30.com/2013/08/revised-timeline/ I may be jumping the gun but Ill take what I can get.

I know you are all waiting to see what the chia pudding finished product looks like, so here goes..

Evernote Camera Roll 20150112 194642

Trust me, this tastes as good if not better then what the picture looks like! Refer to my last post for a how to video. My husband even commented “Its so good, it feels like we shouldn’t be eating it.”

On the meal plan for today was left over Ropa Vieja, which was even better today then it was last night. The flavors got more intense. I’d definitely recommend you put that in your meal rotation.

For the last meal (dinner) I made a rendition of a recipe from theboxmag.com. http://www.theboxmag.com/crossfit-recipes/dinner-beef-stuffed-portobello-mushrooms-with-garlic-spinach/ Burger stuffed portobello mushroom caps with garlic spinach.

Evernote Camera Roll 20150112 194641

The recipe online is only one serving, so I made enough meat for 5 mushroom caps, here is what I used:

5 larger portobello mushroom caps (stems removed), 1.5 lbs of grass-fed organic ground beef, 2 tsp cayenne pepper (this made them very spicy so I would use only 1 tsp if you don’t like too much spice), 2 cloves garlic minced, 1 cup of red and yellow bell peppers diced small, 1/2 yellow onion diced small, 1 tsp salt and avocado oil to drizzle. Mix all ingredients, put a patty sized ball of meat mixture on top of the portobello caps then place on a baking sheet. Drizzle with avocado oil. Then bake at 350 for about 30 mins (or until the burger is cooked to your liking) My husband requested I make spinach.. And when he asks for spinach, I happily oblige and make my man some spinach.. And it just so happens, it was the best accompaniment. Here is what I did: I took a splash of avocado oil, 2 small cloves of garlic, one package of washed baby spinach, a dash of red pepper and sprinkled with flavor god lemon garlic seasoning (find it here: http://flavorgod.com/ ) sauteed them all until the spinach was cooked down.

Now lets chat about the chicken bone broth I’ve had in my crock-pot over night. It is finally done and ready for me to turn it into chicken vegetable soup. Now an easy way to prep your soup on the weekend is to cut all the vegetables up on Sunday. Put it in a gallon zip top bag and store until your ready to put your soup together. There is no need to cook the vegetables ahead of time, as they will get soft while heating the soup. Here is what I did:

I took the nasty looking vegetables and bones out of the crock-pot then poured the contents through a small mesh colander.

Evernote Camera Roll 20150112 194641 (3)

I put 8 cups of the broth and 2 cups of water into a large pot and brought to a boil. I added:

2 TBSP Salt, 2 TBSP Fish sauce (red boat brand is whole30 compliant but this is optional to use) carrots, parsley, zucchini, 1 can of diced tomatoes, portobello mushrooms and shredded chicken. I didn’t have celery on hand or I would have added that too. Then let it all boil until the vegetables were soft. I put it in lunch containers for tomorrow and stored a larger bowl for later in the week. This could also be put freezer containers and frozen for later in the month. I always seem to amaze myself with the flavor of the food I make.. I don’t mean to pat myself on the back, but DANG its good! Serve with some avocado or nuts and a piece of fruit and you have a very nutritious, satisfying meal.

Evernote Camera Roll 20150112 194641 (2)

Bone broth is not only so easy to make and a much cheaper alternative to buying broth in the store (plus you know exactly whats in it), but its incredibly good for you! The bone broth helps to heal your gut, is great for your skin and is comforting when your not feeling good (hints why mom always gave you a cup of chicken soup when you were sick) If you want more information on Bone Broth and its benefits, there is a great FAQ here: http://whole9life.com/2013/12/whole9-bone-broth-faq/

If this is your day 8 on whole30, you may begin feeling like its just not worth it. Days 9-11 are the hardest days. Please do yourself a favor and be strong. You CAN do it. And will not regret taking this journey. Trust me. This is my third round, and if I can do it. So can you. I believe in you!

Marisa

Leave a Reply

