My Sunday is spent in the kitchen

On Sunday’s I set aside a solid 3 hours (sometimes more) to prep my food for the following week. I chop, dice, boil, slow cook, broil, bake, roast and bag. Not necessarily in that order. If I don’t put this time aside, my week is much more hectic. I spend way more time cooking, deciding what to cook and often times will settle on crap. So I know in order to stay on track, this is a must. Its better for everyone in the house. But especially me, because I don’t have to think about it. I know its prepped, in the fridge and ready for me to cook it on the assigned day. Trust me. Come up with your meal plan (or follow mine) and give it a try. I guarantee you will prefer doing it my way, then eating out every night! (unless of course you hate cooking and don’t mind eating out every night. If that’s the case I encourage you to read the book “it starts with food”)

Here is a glimpse into my Sunday –

Today I roasted two organic whole chickens.

Evernote Camera Roll 20150118 195521

Roasting chickens are so much easier then you may think. I literally took them out of the package. Patted dry with paper towel, liberally sprinkled with salt and pepper then placed in a 400 degree oven for almost an hour. The chickens I bought today were larger then the chickens I used last week. Today I had to cook them for closer to an hour. If you are questioning the doneness, place a meat thermometer in the thickest part of the breast and as long as it reads 165 internal temp, you are safe.

Evernote Camera Roll 20150118 195521 (3)

Once the chickens cooled, I peeled every last bit of chicken off the bones. Placed it all in a storage container to use during the week. Some quick lunch ideas are: Chicken salad made with homemade mayo, curry powder, grapes, celery and cashews. You can eat that in lettuce cups, or bell pepper boats. You can use the chicken in soup, on salads, on a baked sweet potato, just to name a few.

I then started my bone broth in the crock pot. Last week, I made chicken vegetable soup, which I will do again this week. However, the bone broth I had left over.. I drink as a warm beverage at night. The health benefits of bone are many. It helps heal the gut (which my family has issues with) it contains collagen which is great for skin, hair and nails. And its just plain comforting. Here is how I make my bone broth:

Evernote Camera Roll 20150118 195520 (1)

I take the ends and center pieces of the celery (which I had already prepackaged for quick snacks or to have with lunch), the ends to the carrots that I peeled for the week. Some left over garlic, a handful of parsley and half of the bones (I only used half this time, as there seemed to be more bones in these chickens? Not sure how that happened ha! I froze the other half of the bones and will make a second batch of bone broth later in the week) Covered everything with cold water and added 2TBSP of apple cider vinegar. This steps helps pull out all of the good stuff in the bones. Don’t skip it (you wont taste the vinegar at all)! Then slow cook in your crock-pot on high for 24 hours! Tomorrow night I will make soup!

While all of this chicken business was happening, I had a corned beef brisket on the stove.

Evernote Camera Roll 20150118 195521 (1)

I boil mine for about 4 hours. I put a few red potatoes in the pot the last hour. Once the corned beef is cooled, I will chop and portion it out for quick breakfasts this week. I also chop a green, red and yellow bell pepper, an onion and the cooked potatoes. I mix all that up and add a hand full to the already portioned corned beef. This way, all I have to do is grab the bag out of the fridge and heat it up. Fry an egg and my breakfast is done. Honestly when I make this for breakfast, I am not hungry until afternoon. Plus I insure we are eating vegetables at breakfast too. Cant beat that!

Evernote Camera Roll 20150105 221414

Usually on Sunday’s I try to plan a crock-pot dinner to serve then have left overs for lunch the next day, but today my hubby requested Salmon. I haven’t had salmon in a long time, so I decided to oblige. I made a mango avocado salsa to serve with the salmon.

Evernote Camera Roll 20150118 195521 (5)

I didn’t follow a recipe but this is what I did: Took two mango’s, two avocados, a half of a yellow onion, a handful of cilantro, a few dashes of crushed red pepper, salt and pepper to taste. A half of a squeezed orange and some avocado oil. Mixed it all up and let sit for about an hour. It reminded me of summer. Don’t be intimidated by mango’s. They are the best tasting fruit in my opinion. All you have to do to get the meat out of the center is cut along the long flat seed. Then make a hash tag pattern and pop inside out. It should look like this

Evernote Camera Roll 20150118 195521 (6)

then you just slice the little squares right off the skin. But make sure you eat the meat around the seed, because you just cant waist it!

I had a bag of green beans from my shopping trip last weekend that we didn’t eat. So tonight I made on of my favorite salads.

Evernote Camera Roll 20150118 195521 (4)

I cut the green beans in bite-sized pieces. Cut red potatoes in small dice. Then boiled them both until the potatoes were tender (about 15 mins). Drained them and added two handfuls of cherry tomatoes. The dressing is avocado oil, coconut vinegar, complaint fish sauce, salt, pepper and onion powder. Mix and serve. I serve this hot at dinner time but its just as good cold the next day for lunch.

Evernote Camera Roll 20150118 195520

I had to show you how perfectly my salmon was cooked (in my opinion) as I usually over cook it. Tonight it was delicious! Plus had enough to package lunch for both of us tomorrow.

Now let me say a few things about going into your third week of the whole30 (if your with my timeline and on day 14 or around there) You may be experiencing Tigers Blood, like I am. You have found your groove and are feeling great. You are noticing your jeans are bigger, your sleeping better, you have lost your sugar cravings and are motivated to keep going. But this might not be happening for you (like my hubby, who is still having ups and downs) This is not a race. Definitely, slow and steady wins in this case. I ask that you notice the small accomplishments. Stay positive and remember why you are taking this journey. Weather its to change your eating habits, or to lose weight. Whatever it may be, its worth your effort. And will pay off. You can do anything for 30 days, and your health sure does deserve it.

Much love!

Marisa

Leave a Reply

