Winner Winner Chicken Dinner

I rushed out of the house this morning to get my daughter to school and meet a friend for a walk before we took the little’s to story time at the library and park play after. With that said, I did not eat breakfast. I grabbed a banana with the intention to share it with the baby, but we didn’t break into it. I did pick up an Americano, but that hardly counts as nutrition let alone sustenance. When you are on an eating plan like the whole30, you count on your first meal to give you the energy to power through the first part of your day. More times then not, my first meal will sustain me until later in the afternoon. So needless to say I was starving when we got home from the park. Because we devoured the chicken chili from last night, I didn’t have anything quick. I did have my homemade chicken bone broth and shredded chicken. So I decided to put together a batch of chicken vegetable soup. Its so easy to do, anyone could do it. The flavor you get from so few ingredients is incredible. All you need is one surprise ingredient. FISH SAUCE! Honestly it makes all the difference in the soup world!

Take 8 cups of homemade Organic chicken bone broth and 2 cups of water. Bring it to a boil. Add 2 TBSP salt and 2 TBSP fish sauce (I use red boat brand as it only contains anchovy and sea salt. Some brands do include sugar, so read your labels) Add 4 cups of mixed chopped vegetables. I used zucchini, celery, a handful of parsley, carrots, green beans and half an onion.

Evernote Camera Roll 20150121 204342 (1)

One can of organic diced tomatoes

Evernote Camera Roll 20150121 204342 (2)

And about 3 cups of cooked diced chicken

Evernote Camera Roll 20150121 204342

I let it all simmer for about 20 mins and enjoyed a bowl full of deliciousness!

Evernote Camera Roll 20150121 204343 (1)

Now lets chat dinner. This recipe is one I started making my first round of whole30. Mind you, that’s the round I did on my own. So to make this recipe for the family was a bit of a stretch. However it lasted and makes an appearance often. Now, ill be honest. Its probably a dinner you want to make on a weekend, because you do need to de-bone and pound flat the chicken thighs (You could buy boneless thighs, however the bones are perfect to use in bone broth. So I de-bone myself BUT keep the skin. That’s what makes this chicken the BOMB)

Evernote Camera Roll 20150121 204343 (2)

Trim the access fat on the sides and pat dry with a paper towel. Sprinkle with salt then add to a frying pan heated hot with some avocado oil.

Evernote Camera Roll 20150121 204343 (3)

I use a splatter guard to help save some time cleaning my store top. Fry this chicken until its golden brown. Here’s the trick though… Do not flip it until that skin is CRISPY! Before you flip, sprinkle the meat side with a garlic seasoning (I use Flavor god because it doesn’t contain sugar and is really yummy) Flip the chicken and cook on the other side until the chicken is cooked through. Maybe 5 or 6 more mins. Then place on a rack until ready to serve for dinner. Now another tip.. Make a double batch of this chicken. Or maybe even a triple batch… Because its really that good!

Evernote Camera Roll 20150121 204344

Here is the original recipe with more detailed instructions!

http://nomnompaleo.com/post/74180911762/cracklin-chicken

And to get the flavor god seasoning go here!

https://www.google.com/search?q=flavorgod&oq=flavorgod&aqs=chrome..69i57.8958j0j7&sourceid=chrome&es_sm=122&ie=UTF-8

Marisa

Leave a Reply

