Feeling Alive!

The corned beef I made this past weekend is nearly gone. Both my husband and I have eaten it for breakfast every day this week (except yesterday when I skipped breakfast)

Evernote Camera Roll 20150122 192421 (3)

I like eating the corned beef hash for breakfast because its an easy way to get veggies in first thing in the morning. Its also very sustaining. However I miss the chia pudding allot. I am pretty much a creature of habit and could eat the same exact thing for breakfast and never get tired of it. I really wanted to make sure my husband didn’t get board of the food we were eating this round, but he requested it too. Score! So this happened..

Evernote Camera Roll 20150122 192419

My second meal of the day was a big fat cup of chicken vegetable soup. I shared my recipe on yesterday’s post. So this weekend, go buy yourself a whole chicken. Roast it and use the bones for bone broth! You will not be sorry!

Evernote Camera Roll 20150122 192421 (2)

Tonight after dinner I processed the bone broth that I started last night. Because I already have a batch of chicken vegetable soup in the fridge, I will freeze half of this batch and sip the rest… Yep, right out of a coffee cup… because it heals my gut.. and that is just enough reason for me.

Evernote Camera Roll 20150122 192420

On the menu for this evenings meal was rib eye steaks with Brussels sprout salad. Looks familiar right? We did serve this for dinner on Saturday night, but its just that good. I could eat it every other night (I did say creature of habit right?!?)

Evernote Camera Roll 20150122 192420 (1)

Here is the recipe for the salad

2 cups raw shredded Brussels sprouts, 1/2 cup pomegranate seeds, 4 slices cooked chopped bacon (read your labels and make sure to buy a sugar free brand), 2oz orange juice, 2oz avocado oil, 5 dashes of fish sauce (very technical term ha!), 1oz coconut vinegar (or white wine vinegar), Short dash of sesame oil, Salt and pepper. Combined and let set in fridge for an hour before serving. This salad holds up over night too! And it is delish!

I also made a batch of my lovely deviled eggs with homemade mayo. They are perfect for a quick protein snack or add to any meal. And they are addicting..

Evernote Camera Roll 20150122 192420 (2)

I hard boil my eggs perfectly every time. This is what I do: Place eggs in cold water just covering the eggs. Place on flame and bring to rapid boil. Once boiling, turn off heat, cover the pot and let sit for 19 mins exactly. Once 19 mins is up, cool immediately with cold water and shell. To make the deviled eggs I use cornichons (mini gherkins, which do not use sugar in the pickling process), capers, green scallions, Dijon mustard (check your labels again for no sugar brand), salt, pepper and homemade mayo (sometimes Ill add fresh dill if I have it on hand). Mash it all together and spoon in your eggs.

Its easy to make the homemade mayo part too! I use a wide mouth mason jar and a stick immersion blender.

Evernote Camera Roll 20150122 192421 (1)

Add one room temperature egg (preferably pasteurized because this is not going to be cooked) the juice from half of a lemon (possibly a full lemon if your fruit is not putting much juice out) 1/2 tsp mustard powder, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp pepper and 1 cup of avocado oil. Put everything in a wide mouth mason jar in that order. Place the stick blender in until touching the bottom and pulse for 5 seconds until you see a fluffy cloud start to appear. Then slowly move the wand up until everything is combined. It happens in no more then 20 second.

Evernote Camera Roll 20150122 192421

This could be used in this egg recipe, in tuna salad, chicken salad, potato salad, on vegetables. It can also be made into ranch dressing. YUM! Do not be afraid of trying new things.. It might even change your mind on the stuff your used to!

Tomorrow is FRIDAY! On my meal plan, its planned to eat out for dinner however I think we decided we are going to skip it and eat in.. Not sure what Ill make yet.. But cant wait for the weekend…

Marisa

Leave a Reply

