I almost lost a finger today…..

Last night I made a staple for our house. Spaghetti squash and zucchini with Italian sausage and marinara sauce. I can whip it up in nearly minuets and everyone loves it. I don’t even have to make a separate pot of noodles (for the kids) anymore. Usually I buy a pretty pricey bottle of sugar free marinara sauce at my local grocery. But I found these large bottles at Costco for about $8 bucks for two. It was a total win!! Best tasting sauce I’ve had so far!

Evernote Camera Roll 20150120 201302 (2)

Evernote Camera Roll 20150120 201303

Today is day 16 of my January whole30 and as easy as it seems this go round, the last two days I’ve just been kinda off. Not much of an appetite at all. Although today I forced myself to eat. I had some of the corned beef hash I prepped this weekend, with a fried egg on top. (Even though I’m missing chia pudding this week)

Evernote Camera Roll 20150120 201302 (1)

I had left overs for my second meal then made a REALLY good chili for third meal. This is the recipe I followed (although I didn’t have a red bell pepper so I used a yellow on instead.. Improvise people, its not that hard!) Oh and I almost chopped my pointer finger off while chopping an onion. Be VERY careful, accidents do happen in the kitchen!

Creamy Chicken Chili

Evernote Camera Roll 20150120 201302

If you are just starting your whole30 journey, weight loss journey or healthy eating journey, remember prepping food on the weekend when you do have time is the easiest way to save time during the week. This chili recipe called from uncooked chicken, however I used the chicken I roasted on Sunday and it added a wonderful roasted flavor, plus saved me time chopping and cooking chicken tonight. I was able to put this chili recipe together in about a half an hour. Sadly there are no left overs. Luckily we have plenty of stuff in the fridge to eat for lunch tomorrow!

Marisa

Leave a comment